TAB Awards

Every fall, the Texas Association of Builders recognizes its members for outstanding service to the association. Each entry is judged based on the previous and current years’ involvement in TAB.

The TAB Excellence under 45 Awards Program is dedicated to highlighting and rewarding young professionals that have committed their time, efforts and careers to the Texas building industry.  The program is designed to acknowledge their hard work and successes, reward their performance and dedication and showcase them as future leaders of the industry across our state.

Nomination Guidelines:

Nominees must be employed by an active member of the TAB between the ages of 21 and 45.  No more than one company nominee may be chosen as a recipient of the Excellence under 45 Award and the number of award recipients will be determined at the time of judging per the quality and scope of applications. 

The awards program provides industry education and networking for professional growth in the residential building industry, and helps program participants become better, more knowledgeable, more productive employees. 

Online entries are currently closed. Click here to read the guidelines and requirement and complete future applications.

Deadline for 2018 entries TBD. 

A list of previous Excellence under 45 Awards winners is here.

[back to top]

The following is a list of TAB's "Of the Year" Awards: 

To nominate, view TAB's "Of The Year" Awards Instruction Memo here. The nomination forms should be completed and returned to the Texas Association of Builders, 313 E. 12th Street, Ste. 210, Austin, Texas 78701 by September 18, 2017.

A list of previous "Of the Year" Award winners is here (PDF)

[back to top]

The Texas Association of Builders (TAB) will celebrate the 25th-anniversary of the Star Awards program this year. TAB launched the awards program to showcase the outstanding work of home builders, remodelers, architects, designers, sales and marketing professionals, and industry leaders. It remains the only prestigious statewide tribute to excellence in the home building industry. 

With more than 100 categories to choose from and hundreds of entries each year, it is an inspiring accomplishment to be recognized as the best in Texas!  Category winners and Grand Award winners are announced at a black-tie event held in conjunction with the yearly Sunbelt Builders Show™. This year's ceremony will be on August 9 at the Hilton Anatole Dallas. 

Over 500 entries were submitted in 2017. Our distinguished panel of industry experts from across the nation spent two days judging the exceptional entries. Submit your online entries on the official Star Awards website at

Important 2018 Star Awards Dates:

January 19 - Call for Entries Opens
March 6 - Early Bird Entry Deadline ($125/Entry)
March 20 - Call for Entries Final Deadline ($175/Entry)  
August 9 - Award Celebration

Previous Winners:

2008 Star Awards

2009 Star Awards

2010 Star Awards

2011 Star Awards

2012 Star Awards

2013 Star Awards

2014 Star Awards

2015 Star Awards

2016 Star Awards | 2016 Star Awards Photo Gallery | 2016 Star Awards Digital Catalog

2017 Star Awards | 2017 Star Awards Photo Gallery2017 Star Awards Digital Catalog | 2017 Finalist Announcement (PDF) |  2017 Press Release (PDF) 


Duplicate Award Order Form










[back to top]

The Texas Housing Hall of Honor celebrates men and women who have made significant and lasting contributions to the Texas housing industry. Inductees are selected annually from the categories of: builders, developers or remodelers; trades professionals and suppliers; government; and industry-allied professionals. Nominees are inducted into the Texas Housing Hall of Honor at a black-tie event in the fall of each year.    


Housing Hall of Honor Guidelines and Application is here

Entry Deadline: June 30
Required enclosure: High-quality, four-color photo (head and shoulders only) of nominee in business attire.


Click on names to view videos

2017 Honoree

 Chip Dence, Victoria
    Michael Moore, San Antonio

2016 Honoree
Ray Tonjes, Austin
    David Weekley, Houston

2015 Honoree: 
    *Harold Pollman, Dallas

2014 Honoree

    *Ron F. Formby, Arlington

2013 Honoree
    *E.J. Burke, Jr., San Antonio

2012 Honorees

    *Jim Box, Houston
    *Ray Ellison, San Antonio

2011 Honoree
    *Ted Schlossman, Fort Worth

2010 Honorees
    Kent Conine, Dallas
    *C.W.L. (Dub) Dennis, Wichita Falls
    *Jean MacDonald, Kerrville and Austin
    *Martin Perlman, Houston

2009 Honorees
    Ted Dinerstein, Houston
    *R.G. (Dick) Hughes, Pampa and Wichita Falls
    The Honorable Randy Neugebauer, Lubbock
    *Nash Phillips, Austin
    James Uptmore, San Antonio

2008 Honorees

    *Jesse Baker, San Antonio
    *David Fox, Dallas
    *J.B. Sandlin, Fort Worth
    *Herman Smith, Fort Worth

*denotes deceased members

[back to top]